Nov 5, 2014

30 for 30: Phoenix Style

Thirty for thirty.

I’m not talking about the acclaimed ESPN series of films, but the home team’s record at US Airways Center since May 23.

Thirty wins, zero losses.

Remarkably, the Phoenix Mercury, Arizona Rattlers and Phoenix Suns haven’t lost a game at home since May 23 when the Mercury fell to the San Antonio Stars.

The Mercury went on to win the rest of their home games including the postseason for a total of 19 in a row. They would go on to win their third WNBA Championship in 2014.

The Arizona Rattlers didn’t lose a single home game at US Airways Center during their 2014 season, 11 straight victories. The Rattlers won their fifth ArenaBowl Championship in 2014.

Unquestionably, the Suns started the 2014-15 season on the right foot, winning their first three games in the preseason and their first two during the regular season.

Indeed, the Suns will be put to the test early on as they begin a five-game home stand against the Memphis Grizzlies on Wednesday, November 5.


blog comments powered by Disqus